BR50 Podcast

Berlin Research - Research in Berlin

How smart is artificial intelligence? How fair are the research conditions in Berlin? And how challenging is climate change for the city? Questions like these are explored by the podcast "Berlin Research - Forschung in Berlin".

Berlin Research 50 (BR50) is an association of the non-university research institutions in Berlin. This colorful bouquet of renowned scientific institutions includes Helmholtz, Leibniz and Max Planck Institutes, as well as the federal government's departmental research and other non-university research institutes in Berlin.

Day by day, all these institutions are doing research to make our lives a little better - and with the podcast "Berlin Research - Research in Berlin” we will show how. We talk about artificial intelligence or mobility and diversity in science, about citizen science or research under difficult conditions.

 

Of course, scientists do disagree when they discuss with each other. The BR50 podcast is a science policy discussion format and each episode highlights one exciting topic, on which two to three scientists engage in a controversial discussion. The conversations are moderated alternately by Nancy Fischer and Thomas Prinzler.

Nancy Fischer is a journalist, moderator and trainer. She broadcasts on public radio, trains young journalists and hosts podcasts on science and research topics.

Thomas Prinzler is a science journalist, author and presenter. He was science program editor at rbb Inforadio for many years. In addition, he moderates events and congresses mainly on natural science topics.

As editorial board,  Dr. Anja Sommerfeld (BR50 office at FVB Berlin) and Dr. Gregor Hofmann (BR50 office at WZB Berlin) are responsible for the podcast. The individual episodes will be co-coordinated with the participating guests' institutions. 

Talking about climate change, photovoltaics and city greening (from left to right) Dr. Björn Rau, Nancy Fischer and Dipl. Ing. Jens Hasse.
07-2022PODCAST

Climate change and the city: More green or more photovoltaics? (Episode #07)

0:00
/
0:00
Franziska Holz (German Institute for Economic Research in Berlin), Robert Schlögl (Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society), Steffi Hlawenka (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie) und Thomas Prinzler (Moderator) discuss about hydrogen as green energy source.
06-2022PODCAST

Hydrogen - the 'champagne' of renewable energies? (Episode #06)

0:00
/
0:00
Gordon Feld (University Heidelberg), Miriam Kip, (QUEST Center for Responsible Research am BIH) and Edward Miguel (Berkeley Initiative for Transparency in the Social Sciences) discuss with moderator Nancy Fischer about fair quality standards for research
05-2022PODCAST

How to make research better, more transparent, and ethical? (Episode #05)

0:00
/
0:00
About animal experiments and alternative methods discuss (from left to right) Michael Gotthardt (MDC), Thomas Prinzler (moderator), Christa Thöne-Reineke (Einstein Center 3R) and Julia Scheinpflug (BfR).
04-2022PODCAST

Animal Experiments in Berlin - In Search of Alternatives (Episode #04)

0:00
/
0:00
Nazan Maksudyan (CMB) and Einstein Prof. Gwendolyn Sasse (ZOiS) discuss with moderator Thomas Prinzler about freedom and limits of research in authoritarian countries.
03-2022PODCAST

Freiräume und Limits von Forschung in autoritären Ländern (Folge #3)

0:00
/
0:00
Ivona Kafedjiska (HZB) and Prof. Dr. Luc De Meester (IGB) discuss with moderator Nancy Fischer about diversity and internationalization.
02-2022PODCAST

Let's talk about Internationalization and Diversity in Berlin's academia (Episode #2)

0:00
/
0:00
Prof. Dr. Jeanette Hofmann (WZB), Dr. Thomas Müller (MPIB), Thomas Prinzler as moderator and Dr. Aljoscha Burchardt (DFKI) discuss the question "Who are you - human or machine?
01-2022PODCAST

Wer bist Du – Mensch oder Maschine? (Folge #1)

0:00
/
0:00
BR50 Podcast Title Illustration: Henning Wagenbreth
01-2022PODCAST

Berlin Research – Forschung in Berlin – Trailer

0:00
/
0:00

BR50 Podcast

Berlin Research – Forschung in Berlin

Wie schlau ist künstliche Intelligenz? Wie fair sind die Forschungsbedingungen in Berlin? Und wie herausfordernd ist der Klimawandel für die Stadt? Fragen wie diesen geht der Podcast „Berlin Research – Forschung in Berlin“ nach.

Berlin Research 50 (BR50) ist ein Zusammenschluss der außeruniversitären Forschungsinstitutionen in Berlin. Zu diesem bunten Strauß an renommierten Wissenschaftseinrichtungen gehören Helmholtz-, Leibniz- und Max-Planck-Institute, aber auch die Ressortforschung des Bundes und andere außeruniversitäre Forschungsinstitute in Berlin.

All diese Einrichtungen forschen täglich daran, dass unser aller Leben etwas besser wird – und wir wollen mit dem Podcast „Berlin Research – Forschung in Berlin“ zeigen, wie: Wir reden über Künstliche Intelligenz oder Mobilität und Diversität in der Wissenschaft, über Citizen Science oder Forschung unter schwierigen Bedingungen.

Dabei sind die Wissenschaftler*innen natürlich nicht immer einer Meinung. Der BR50-Podcast bietet ein wissenschaftspolitisches Diskussionsformat und beleuchtet pro Folge ein spannendes Thema, zu dem zwei bis drei Wissenschaftler*innen ein kontroverses Gespräch führen. Moderiert werden die Gespräche abwechselnd von Nancy Fischer und Thomas Prinzler.

Nancy Fischer ist Journalistin, Moderatorin und Trainerin. Sie sendet im öffentlich-rechtlichen Radio, bildet den journalistischen Nachwuchs aus und moderiert Podcasts mit Themen aus Wissenschaft und Forschung.

Thomas Prinzler ist Wissenschaftsjournalist, Autor und Moderator. Er war lange Jahre Wissenschaftsredakteur im rbb Inforadio. Zudem moderiert er Veranstaltungen und Kongresse vorwiegend zu naturwissenschaftlichen Themen.

Die Redaktionsleitung für den Podcast liegt bei Dr. Anja Sommerfeld (BR50-Geschäftsstelle am FVB Berlin) und Dr. Gregor Hofmann (BR50-Geschäftsstelle am WZB Berlin). Die einzelnen Folgen werden jeweils zusammen mit den Einrichtungen der beteiligten Gäste ko-koordiniert.

Über Tierversuche und alternative Methoden diskutieren (v.l.n.r) Michael Gotthardt (MDC), Thomas Prinzler (Moderator), Christa Thöne-Reineke (Einstein-Zentrum 3R) und Julia Scheinpflug (BfR)
04-2022PODCAST

Tierversuche in Berlin – Auf der Suche nach Alternativen (Folge #04)

0:00
/
0:00
Über Freiräume und Limits von Forschung in autoritären Ländern diskutieren (v.l.n.r.) Nazan Maksudyan (CMB) und Einstein-Prof. Gwendolyn Sasse (ZOiS) mit Moderator Thomas Prinzler.
03-2022PODCAST

Freiräume und Limits von Forschung in autoritären Ländern (Folge #03)

0:00
/
0:00
Über Diversität und Internationalisierung diskutieren (v.l.n.r.) Ivona Kafedjiska (HZB) und Prof. Dr. Luc De Meester (IGB) mit Moderatorin Nancy Fischer.
02-2022PODCAST

Let's talk about Internationalization and Diversity in Berlin's academia (Folge #2)

0:00
/
0:00
Über die Frage "Wer bist Du – Mensch oder Maschine?" diskutieren (v.l.n.r.) Prof. Dr. Jeanette Hofmann (WZB), Dr. Thomas Müller (MPIB), Thomas Prinzler als Moderator sowie Dr. Aljoscha Burchardt (DFKI)
01-2022PODCAST

Wer bist Du – Mensch oder Maschine? (Folge #01)

0:00
/
0:00
BR50 Podcast Titel-Illustration: Henning Wagenbreth
01-2022PODCAST

Berlin Research – Forschung in Berlin – Trailer

0:00
/
0:00